Motion and Language

Last class we discussed what the possible reasons were for the movement that is so frequently used by the Ravickians. They use this movement to communicate in a way that seems entirely foreign to us. While visiting Ravicka, our narrator seems to try to immerse herself in the Ravickian culture, wanting to know more about this new city and strange people. In doing so, I think we get some insight into the reason Ravickians use movement in their communication. “Stepping out of my room, I closed the door and dropped my daypack to the floor. I leaned against the wall and narrowed my eyes as if I might cry, but more to check for signs of crying. My ducts were dry. I threw my hand against my forehead, knowing something would be revealed in this gesture” (32). Here, the narrator is trying to extract emotion from herself, and when she fails she attempts movement to do so. I think this hints that the reason Ravickians use movement so frequently is because it is more emotional than simple speech. As we saw with the salsa dancer, their encounter was much more passionate than if it had begun with a “hello.” The Ravickians seem to be an intense and enthusiastic people, and words do not capture everything they try to communicate. By physically manifesting their ideas and emotions, they are able to convey their message to different degree than if they were to just use words.

Leave a Reply

