The Voice In My Head

I thought reading the story “Underfed” was rather perplexing. I had never come across a narrative where there were no periods. Every time I read a book, I have a certain voice in my head going along with the words. However, reading this particular narrative, I could not really formulate a steady mental voice. The voice I was hearing in my head was one that was anxious and restless. With the absence of periods, I couldn’t stop reading because I felt like I was constantly in mid sentence. It almost seemed like the narrator was like a child, who kept blurting out more and more details to a story as they went along, remembering different things along the way. At this point, I am unsure what Steinberg’s intention was when writing it this way. Perhaps she wanted the reader to feel that feeling of anxiety I was feeling.

Leave a Reply

