Response to “The Brutality of Man, The Art of Animals”

I’m glad it was brought up again.  I have been relevantly silent do to the fact that I didn’t really know how articulate my understand of the use of “flat characters”.  What jkc10001 says in “The Brutality of Man, The Art of Animals” was a new perspective that I haven’t thought of just yet.  I don’t think it’s wrong, in fact it helped me to a conclusion that we see flat characters as a result of our point of view.  I feel that we see ourselves as having interesting and exciting lives but I can’t help to feel that to others our lives are lived through cliche melodrama.  While the verbiage I use seems as if this is negative I don’t think this is so.  I think it helps me understand further why characters react the way they do.  Every time I ask why a character makes a decision I feel is irresponsible or doesn’t make sense I look to real world application and realize many real decisions are not always clear in their moment. I feel that’s the most brilliant part of the book.  The earthy development of characters.  The best connection I feel to these characters is the anarchist views. Consider the idea that connotation behind anarchism as a fallacy and the reality that anarchism is the anti-top-bottom society structure.  Anarchist ideals are typically bred from the disenfranchised and their long term goal is the interdependent man.  If I were to tie this ideal of anarchism back to trauma I’d argue anyone’s life because a form of anarchist agenda when they recognize their worth is substantially increased when they can self actualize.  And I feel a lot of those views are being portrayed through Morgan’s characterization.  I had to dig deeper just as you’d have to with anyone stranger.  I also don’t feel this is flat but a pretty complicated process and character development.

Leave a Reply

