Wandering Words on Worms

As I began reading Kind One and then, once finishing the overture and delving into Ginny’s story, I obviously noted that these two sections contained very different narratives. These two sections thus created a sense of discomfort in me as I did not know how to connect the two. While both narratives share Kentucky as their place, it is yet to see how both are connected through plot. I also find it interesting that for the overture, in parentheses is written “The Deep Well” while for the actual section “Kind One,” “Field and Flower” are written in parentheses. Again, I do not yet understand how all of these pieces fit together.

One other trait that I found both sections to share is worms – while this doesn’t help me with my understanding, I believe it is worth noting at this stage in our reading. In the overture, the narrator mentions that while in the “war” (presumably the War of 1812), he would dig wells and grab the worms out of the water whenever they would fall in (Hunt 6), and ultimately, after the death of his daughter, he stop doing this. “There were fresh earthworms floating in the water, but I did not save them” (Hunt 9). This is obviously in response (mourning) of the death of his daughter. Worms then come up again in Ginny’s narrative when she talks about Lucius Wilson walking in on her scratching the scar on her ankle until it bleeds. “Had stood watching me let it bleed into my sock. Stain the bedsheets. Feed the floors. Drip through the tunnels. Head to the underparts of Kentucky. Talk to the worms” (Hunt 32). As I’ve said, I do not know what meaning this connection holds to the overall plot of the book (if any), but I do find it interesting that Hunt would include this idea of Ginny’s blood “talking to the worms.”

Leave a Reply

